And Then There Were Two…

21 Sep

My sentiments exactly, Jon.

source

Tomorrow marks a month that my husband and I have been married, and I’ve still got chipped polish on my nails from the wedding. We’ve resided in LA just a few weeks, and bad karma definitely found us. I’m not sure what we did to deserve it. Last night my husband said that maybe our situation is just getting all the bad karma out of the way, and that only good karma is in our future. I can only hope.

My husband was laid off from his new job on Friday, the job we moved to LA for. It was for an entertainment studio (“The-Studio-That-Must-Not-Be-Named”—yes, in my anger towards them I equate them to Voldemort, though I realize they are not that evil.) For the month of July, he commuted 4 hours round trip to work there. He’s an incredible, dedicated worker and it breaks my heart that this happened to him. A rep said as soon as they were able they would love to rehire him, but was unsure of when that would be. Two weeks? Two months? It is unknown. As you can imagine, as I am also job hunting, this is catastrophic. It is unreal to be in this position.

Yesterday my husband and I were at the local Coffee Bean, each of us checking all the job boards. One of the silver linings to this hurricane is that I get to spend more time with him. A few hours into it, my husband asked if this is usually how I spend my days. When I replied yes, he asked how I manage to keep the crippling depression at bay. While this is extremely dismal, it still struck me as humorous and I almost snorted my caramel Ice Blended out my nose laughing.

Besides checking Craigslist, Career Builder, Hot Jobs, Job Fox, Jobing, and Monster, we’ve realized that all the temp agencies in the Los Angeles area are crap, so that’s a dead-end. I’ve applied for almost 100 jobs between all the job boards, hearing back from very few places. Unfortunately I’m not crafty in any way, so don’t suggest I sell anything on Etsy. I read an article on CNN this week that claimed the recession was over in June, but not where I’m sitting. It’s depressing.

To combat this, my husband and I have been watching a lot of “Friends,” since we can’t exactly spend all day hitting refresh on the job boards. It helps a bit. It breaks my heart to see how sad my husband is. I’ve also been doing quite a bit of reading, and yesterday I decided to re-read a book from the “Anne of Green Gables” series–“Anne’s House of Dreams” seemed appropriate, as it chronicles Anne and Gilbert’s first years of marriage. However, during this read-through I found myself wanting to punch Anne and her dreamy, romantic view of the world in the face. I did find comfort in a few lines from their wedding ceremony, and I will close with them:

“They belonged to each other; and no matter what life might hold for them, it could never alter that. Their happiness was in each other’s keeping and both were unafraid.” (pg. 21)

3 Responses to “And Then There Were Two…”

  1. Troy September 21, 2010 at 3:55 PM #

    I enjoy that “screwed” is your primary tag..

    Ha!

  2. Kyle Lemmon September 21, 2010 at 4:40 PM #

    You two will make it as long as you stay strong as a pair. That’s great that you’re finding the good sides to this crappy coin you got served. I know that sounds cheesy, but from experience it’s definitely true. Job hunting is frakkin’ depressing (especially now). Just take it one day at a time and remember your friends and family are here to support you.

    I’m keeping you both in my prayers. I usually find it hard to pray for myself, because it can feel so contrived, stale, or disconcerting. The annoying cynic in me likes to keep me down, but it eases my mind a tad. The blog looks dang frosty. Glad you’re writing on it regularly. Hopefully it will help you vent your frustrations at the evil Voldemorts of the world.

    I listen to this XTC song almost every Friday. It’s truthful, funny, poignant, and quite a beautiful melody. Hopefully it lifts your spirits a little.: http://youtube.com/watch?v=_8wnKMI6Jkc&

  3. Julie Lee September 30, 2010 at 5:44 PM #

    I don’t read blogs. In fact, I kind of hate them, which is sad because everyone is writing them. But I like yours because it’s honest, and not trying to be anything more than a real glimpse into your life. Almost inspires me to start my own–something I swore I would never do. Well, that’s why we shouldn’t swear.

    I’m sorry about Craig, yet glad to hear you have a job. Hang in there. This is the adventure part of your marriage. In ten years, you’ll be where I am. Kids, sleepless nights, ants from half munched fishy crackers, and heartfelt wishes for a random Tuesday with your husband at the Coffee Bean.

    Anyway, I hope it lifts your spirits to have little-old-me comment that your blog is lovely, and I am glad my Google alert picked it up.

Leave a Reply

