The Job Hunt is Over!

24 Sep

Well, it is for me. Thank goodness! I was getting tired of lurking on all the job boards. I kept crossing my fingers that I would find a job that paid me and was remotely connected to what I want to do in life, and wasn’t telemarketing or passing out flyers.

So, thankfully after about a month and a half, my job hunt ended yesterday. I went for a job interview in the morning and had an offer by late afternoon. And I accepted! I’m very excited.

I’m going to be an editor at a small legal marketing firm close by. I’m also going to help manage client blogs, and eventually, do a bit of copywriting. It will be full-time, and I start Monday! I think it’s a fabulous opportunity and I hope to learn a lot from my new co-workers, like more about SEO, HTML and web design. I’m really happy to finally get my foot in the door and seriously start my writing/editing career!

Today I’m enjoying my last lazy weekday, which includes playing lots of Stick Golf and Uno on my husband’s iPad. And not showering. I’m sad my new job means I won’t be spending so much time with my husband, but he’s got a lot of freelance opportunities in the works, so it’s probably a good thing I won’t be around to distract him. Also, I really like being able to afford things, like gas and groceries!

My new job means I need to go change my status on all the job boards, as well as retitle this blog and change the About section, all of which is crazy wonderful.

Things are definitely starting to look up for us!

5 Responses to “The Job Hunt is Over!”

  1. lauren September 24, 2010 at 1:54 PM #

    good job larissa! i’m sure you’ll be great at it…and p.s. i want to see an ipad up close…maybe this weekend?

  2. Craig September 24, 2010 at 1:55 PM #

    Sorry your professional stick golfing career didn’t pan out. At least you’ve got a good plan B.

    PS – Your blog subtitle is now outdated. Time to drop the UN from UNEMPLOYED.

  3. Kyle Lemmon September 24, 2010 at 4:07 PM #

    Congrats! That sounds like a perfect fit for you. EMPLOYED is an awesome word. Like Craig said, it’s time to update that subtitle.

    P.S. – Yeah, maybe I will re-start my blog. I feel like it would languish again and sit with the rest of the blogs in Web 2.0’s landfill. We’ll see…

  4. Susan September 24, 2010 at 8:24 PM #

    Now that Chapter 1 of “Makin’ It” has ended, I can’t wait to read Chapter 2. Looks like the title is self-fulfilling. I can sleep better knowing the kids are alright.

  5. Jean September 28, 2010 at 11:09 AM #

    That is so wonderful Lary! I am so happy for you! I want to hear all about your first week!

Leave a Reply

