Working for the Weekend

28 Sep

My hero Dwight Schrute

source

It feels good to be a part of the working class again! Yesterday was my first day at my new job, and I’m diving in. I’m starting to get used to hearing legal jargon casually thrown in conversation: “Wrongful death,” “premises liability,” “medical malpractice,” and my personal favorite, “toxic tort,” to name a few.

One of the things I’m going to need to get used to is using Harvest, a sort of online time log. I’m required to track every minute of my work day, carefully allotting how much time I spend on each client’s articles, blog posts and such. I’ve never done anything like that before. It makes me feel like either a lawyer (making sure I squeeze every penny out of clients I can–not that that’s why my office does it), or some sort of zombie (harvesting organs, eating organs… etc.). There’s also cases of beer in the break room and champagne in the refrigerator, which reminds me I’m definitely not at PUC Enrollment Services anymore.

A somewhat disturbing part of my job is editing (and soon writing) blog posts and articles about fatal accidents, wrongful deaths, and learning about statistics such as “4,378 pedestrians were killed in traffic crashes in 2008,” according to the NHTSA. I apologize in advance for future posts (or texts/calls) that include alarming statistics such as the aforementioned one. I’m assuming I’m going to become a walking dictionary on morbid laws, crimes and accidents. And also very paranoid.

But don’t read this blog wrong and think I’m not excited–I am! I’ve already got my eyes on the newest edition of the Chicago Manual of Style and am desperate to create an in-house style guide to follow while I edit. (Yes, I am a nerd.) I also learned some basic HTML this morning, and already used it in the afternoon. I can’t wait to learn more. (Again, I’m a nerd.)

Oh, remember when I mentioned in my previous post my husband was pursuing some freelance opportunities? Well, he’s now a daily contributor to this fabulous blog, “Talk Nerdy to Me Lover,” and they already posted his first drawing. If you are my friend you will immediate fan them on Facebook and read my husband’s posts every day! 🙂

2 Responses to “Working for the Weekend”

  1. Susan September 28, 2010 at 9:07 PM #

    The CMofS will be on its way to you tomorrow. Enjoy living the nerd life!

  2. Kyle Lemmon September 28, 2010 at 11:10 PM #

    Toxic tort! I love it. Those lawyers sure know how to partay. http://bit.ly/diaHcA

Leave a Reply

