Happy Birthday to Me!

10 Oct

Terrifying but true.

source

Today is my 26th birthday. It is weird.

When I turned 23, I was obsessed with listening to “What’s My Age Again?” by Blink-182. I also played Yellowcard’s “Twenty-Three” a few times as well. I’m not sure what else I did.

Last year for my birthday my husband and I celebrated epically. We went out on the towns of Sonoma and Napa and spent money like Chris Brown. I also discovered eating significant amounts of cheese was deadly, as I spent the night throwing up the delicious morsels I had spent the day consuming. Let’s hope tonight doesn’t hold the same thing in store for me. (Don’t worry Mom, I’m not planning on having cheese today!) I was also very excited because turning 25 meant I didn’t have to pay extra insurance when renting a car – not that I  had ever rented a car, but still. It was exciting!

A lot has changed in the past year. I finished my Technical and Professional Writing certificate from San Francisco State University. I got engaged to the love of my life. I left my job of two years and found myself unemployed for the first time in 10 years. I got married to the love of my life. We moved to LA. LA is weird.

26 seems old. When I turned 21, I had a mini-crisis because it meant I was less than a decade away from 30. Now, 30 looms just four little years away from me. That is weird. Life is weird.

I found a fabulous blog post about turning 26 and a few of the items the blogger mentioned really hit home for me:

“There’s nothing left to look forward to concerning laws that pertain to age. When you turn 25, you can legally rent a car, but that’s pretty much the end of it. All I have left now is the option to run for President of the United States when I turn 35, and my odds are looking a bit sketchy at the moment, to be honest.”

“It’s difficult to enjoy professional sports when the athletes become younger than you are. When you’re a child or teenager, you look up to these superheroes; you tape posters to the wall and pretend that you’re them on the playground. Now, I find it increasingly harder and harder to care if some 8-foot tall, 17-year-old will enter the NBA Draft a year early. How can you honestly say “You’re the man!” to someone that’s almost a decade younger than you?”

Your life is at least 33% over. If you’re lucky, you’ll make it to your 80’s, but when’s the last time you’ve been lucky about anything? Nope, your pie graph is engulfing upon itself, and no amount of hair gel or The Hills is going to change that.”

Yeah.

I’m old.

3 Responses to “Happy Birthday to Me!”

  1. Gynnab October 10, 2010 at 3:06 PM #

    Thanks Larissa, I definitely needed that laugh today! Twenty-five was hard for me, twenty-six wasn’t that bad. Still getting used to twenty-seven. Definitely NOT looking forward to Thirty!

  2. Susan October 10, 2010 at 8:33 PM #

    Ah! But just think how much wiser you are.

  3. Sarah Batiste October 12, 2010 at 8:55 PM #

    i’m a huge fan of the chris brown money reference!

    throwin up my cash.. actin like money ain’t a thang!

Leave a Reply

