I Have a Fever and the Only Prescription is More Snuggie!

26 Oct

Yeah, I'm cool!

Yes. It’s true! I have joined the cult of the Snuggie.

Thanks to my new sister-in-law, I am now the proud owner of “The Blanket That Has Sleeves!” If it sounds epic, it should, because it is.

According to the box it came in, the Snuggie

“does not slip and slide like a regular blanket so it keeps you warm from head to toe while allowing complete freedom of movement. Read, eat, sew, use the remote, talk on the phone or work on your laptop in complete comfort. You can also use it outside to keep you warm at sporting events!”

(You bet your buns I just indented that block quote as though it was from an academic source and not the back of a box!)

I can vouch for that second to last item; as I type this, I am bedecked in my Snuggie’s cotton candy pink folds and am able to type on my laptop with ease. It is glorious.

I realize I’m a little late jumping on the Snuggie bandwagon. It was introduced in 2008 and by the end of 2009, approximately 20 million people had Snuggies, if you can believe it. The height of Snuggie fever was apparently during the holiday season of last year. (source)

A year ago, a Snuggie runway event during New York Fashion Week, which in case you live in a cave is a really big deal. It proved the Snuggie could in fact be elegant; debuting the leopard print Snuggie and other “designer” Snuggies as well.

This past April, over 40,000 people at a Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim game wore a promotional sleeved blanket for five minutes, setting the Guinness World Record for sleeved blanket wearing. I have to admit, I’m a little depressed I didn’t own a Snuggie at the time (nor did I live in LA, but that’s beside the point) because that sounds awesome.

Snuggie fever is still affecting many Americans. Recently, “The Snuggie Sutra” was published, which, to quote the MSNBC news article, is “turning couch potatoes into hot potatoes.” I’ll let you imagine the rest.

This past Thursday, the 1st Snuggie Choice Film Awards were held. Thousands of people submitted videos detailing their love of the blanket-with-sleeves. The winning family won $5,000 for a rap video, so be warned: next year you may see me competing in some ridiculous manner. :/

I used to watch the video below and make fun of Snuggie-wearers, but now I just appreciate how appealing a Snuggernaut really is.

Currently, I’m debating whether I want to quickly turn into “the weird girl” at my new work. The way the office is designed has many employees upstairs, while myself and two others reside downstairs. Heat rises, so the offices upstairs are always warm; thus, the air conditioning is on almost constantly. The way my desk is situated it feels as though the air is blown directly on me, sometimes causing my fingernails to turn purple I’m so cold. I joked this past weekend to my mom about wearing a Snuggie to work, but that was before I owned one.

Do I dare wear it to work? We shall see. As a new Snuggie-wearer, I don’t quite have my confidence in wearing the blanket-with-sleeves in public, but hopefully that will change, and soon.

4 Responses to “I Have a Fever and the Only Prescription is More Snuggie!”

  1. S-Beezy October 26, 2010 at 8:29 PM #

    First of all.. I vote yes on wearing the snuggie to work. Become that person that everyone else wishes they were… they’ll respect you for your individuality. 🙂
    And secondly.. if you need help writing that rap you just let me know. We’re gonna make sure you win!!!

  2. Suze October 26, 2010 at 9:50 PM #

    More cow bell! More Snuggie! More great blogging!

  3. Angie October 26, 2010 at 10:22 PM #

    Larissa, you MUST watch this snuggie vid from College Humor its amazing… it takes the Snuggie to a whole new level!
    http://www.collegehumor.com/video:1910872

  4. KMR October 26, 2010 at 11:34 PM #

    I’d just like to clarify that I am not the sister-in-law that signed L up for the Emperor Palpatine cult.

Leave a Reply

